top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

Gear Test!

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

A lot of my gear is second hand (mostly thanks to my father), and it doesn't always necessarily fit the job perfectly. Beggars can't be choosers, right? For example, I have a MSR AutoFlow Gravity Filter, and before that I was using a MSR MiniWorks Water Filter.


Pros of the AutoFlow:

- large capacity

- idiot proof

- less work (compared to my previous manual pump)

- easy to share with friends


Cons of the AutoFlow:

- bulky

- heavy (in backpacking terms)

- set up (needs gravity)


Ultimately, of the two water filters I have, the AutoFlow is the better choice as it's much simpler to use. I simply scoop the bag through a water source, hang it (usually in a tree), and fill my bottle. It even screws onto a large Nalgene mouth to avoid spilling or monitoring. The hose has a clip so I can stop the water flow and leave the bag hanging at camp.


I know that in my preparation of hiking the East Coast Trail, I need to thoroughly test all the gear I'll be bringing. I need to decide if it is what I want to bring or if I should replace it with something else. Financially, I don't want to do a lot of upgrading. Even before covid hit and I was laid off, I didn't have a lot of money to spend on hiking gear. There are some pieces of gear that you can definitely use a cheap knock off version of, but if you're looking for a very specific piece to fit your needs the way you like, you'll have to cough up some cash.


I decided to do a shorter hike, just under 10km to test out a few pieces. I went to the Nine Mile River Trails, one I had never done before with a friend. There is a lot of gear I don't mind testing out on my own but some things are easier with help, and it's nice to have the company.



Today I tested;

New backpack

New (to me) Hammock Tent

New (to me) Stove


I purchased the MEC Cross Wind 45+10 pack this week and was eager to see how it felt. This is a pack that I have looked at before but in 65+10. Quite frankly, I got it as it is the only pack I have found to fit properly. I am only 5'4" and apparently it's mostly leg so I bought this in the short size. I even tried an Osprey Youth pack and found it too long! I tried on pretty much every pack at MEC, and it's not the first time I've done this. They pretty much all gape at the shoulders if they're sitting on my hips right because I have a shorter torso. If you're shopping for a pack, make sure to read up on how a pack should fit, or better yet visit a store and get them to fit you. They have sandbags so you can see how it feels fully loaded and they'll teach you how to adjust all the straps.


I didn't have any issues with the pack on the hike although I do find the pack fits better when it is fully loaded. I didn't have very much in the pack since it is new and I'm sorting out my gear still, and that made it sit a little high on my hips. I do like how the frame keeps the actually pack off my back so I could get some airflow. The packs I'd previously taken on overnights didn't have this and I'd often be quite uncomfortable.


I also like how this pack has a lower brain (or upper compartment). If you look at an Osprey, the majority of them have a frame that goes up a bit higher, past the shoulders and then the upper compartment is parallel to your head. I found when I was in store trying this on that my head kept hitting the top part. I found this really annoying and even with them adjusting it and trying to give me more space, I didn't want that fit.



The Hammock Tent was quite easy to set up although it will take some practice to configure it just right. (Shout out to Frank for getting me such a good deal on it!) I believe we didn't put the straps quite high enough on the trees so it sat too low. And we didn't secure the fly quite right, needs to go a little more on an angle. However, I will be doing an overnight next weekend to further my skills with it.


I am nervous about sleeping in it as I get motion sick swinging in a hammock. My dad and sister both swear by their hammock tents and said they stay stable so I'm hoping that's not an issue. I've wanted to try a hammock tent for a while as it seems much more convenient. Set up seems fast and the small packing size is hard to beat. I would have to spend 2-3x as much money (new) to get a tight of equal packing size and weight.



Dad gave me this isobutane backpacking stove as he had an extra one he thought I would enjoy. This is more of an ultralight stove than the one I usually use. While my goal is not to be extremely ultra light on this trip, this stove does appeal to me.


The Whisper Lite is easy enough to use and pack but it does have extra pieces. Last fall, I did have the pump break on me while out overnight. Thankfully the food we had brought didn't require heating and it wasn't cold enough to require hot food and drinks. It was not the end of the world having it break, but I would rather not have that happen on a 12+ day trip alone. I have a feeling that I'm really going to want that hot meal at the end of the day when I settle in at camp.



We had originally packed some food to cook after our hike so we could properly test the stove. However, we convinced ourselves (it wasn't hard to do) that after the hike we deserved donuts! We have some really amazing local donut shops, I especially love them as they make vegan donuts! Today we went to Vandals but it is a close tie with Fortune for the best in town.



Tune in next weekend to see how my first night sleeping in the hammock goes!


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page