top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

Gypsum Mines

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

We went back to Frog Pond Café to get some more coffee and check our phones. Jayson checked his messages and realized that he did have to leave and get home to his dog. Mercury and him had talked about joining me for Gypsum Mines but realized it just wasn’t going to work out. I was still happy that they were able to join me for Pollet’s Cove! We said our goodbyes and then they went back to Halifax while I went to see the Gypsum Mines.


I wouldn’t really call it a hike as the road is wide enough for vehicles and very well-maintained. But it was so worth going. If you are going to Cape Breton, you absolutely have to go here. It really doesn't take that much time. You could stop here for 20 minutes if you wanted but it's essential on your Cape Breton tour.


The mine is an artificial lake that was mined back in the early 1900s. The water is a beautiful clear blue and I can see the gypsum all around it. I climbed up to get the whole view and it literally took my breath away. See for yourself with this unedited photo:


The climb up was a little more difficult then the walk in, as it is muddy and wet. There is a rope to hold onto though that made it quite easy. It's definitely something anyone of any age and fitness level could do. If you have enough time, pack a picnic or swim suit.


Here's the way up to give you an idea of the worst part:


While I was up there I saw some people were jumping into the lake below. I hadn’t realized when I went in that you could swim in it. But also I was wearing long pants and long sleeve shirt and feeling a little chilled. I contemplated going back to my car and grabbing a swimsuit and towel but decided I did not want to be freezing the rest of the day.



My ferry to Newfoundland wasn't until late so I knew I had spare time. I decided to follow some offshoot trails around the area and the gypsum really is everywhere. I did some research into gypsum because quite frankly I have no idea what it is and what it’s uses are. I learned that it is primarily used in drywall, cement and plaster. It is also in toothpaste and shampoo though since it has binding abilities...they estimate we eat 28lbs of it in our lifetime. I'm not sure how I feel about learning this fact.

Want a bite?

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page