top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

Gear Reflections

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

Tent versus Hammock

I am very glad that I went with the tent. To be honest I’m not sure how many spots there are that would actually be safe to set up the Hammock. I saw a lot of trees down, a lot of dead trees and a lot of crooked trees. Finding two trees that were alive and strong enough for the Hammock would’ve been hard. Especially to find in a sheltered spot. I also really enjoyed having somewhere to pack and unpack my bag and get changed on cold foggy mornings, damp evenings or in the rain.


Gear I didn’t love

Shewee. 

I tested this out on a few overnights before I left and I liked it. I also took it on some overnight hikes in Gros Morne but I found I really didn’t use it on the ECT. I just didn’t find that I really had to take my pack off and go to the washroom all that often so I was usually going at my campsite. Most the time there’s nobody else around so I didn’t feel the need to use it.


I was all excited for these shoes as most people who hike the Appalachian Trail swear by them and all the hiking groups I’m in are very supportive of them. However, the sole separated from them on day one. This made it extra hard for me to have dry feet. I did really enjoy having trail runners and found my feet weren’t as tired as in heavier boots.


I wanted to have photos of me that weren’t all selfies but only really used this the first few days. I couldn’t keep it on the outside of my pack as parts unscrewed, so again I wasn’t stopping to take it out of my bag.


Solar charger

Technically this is supposed to have 10+ cell phone charges when fully charged. I thought it was fully charged when I went but it seemed to die on day 2 and was a struggle to get it going again. I’m not sure if it wasn’t charged or if my phone didn’t like it.


I had a pair of these when I went tree planting forever ago. They withstood wearing them 6 days a week for two months so I thought they would be great for this. However, one of the pocket seams gave out on day 3 and my phone fell out. Thankfully I wasn’t over water or near a cliff. They also just didn’t age well, within a few days they looked years old. 


Gear I loved


I got my poles from Costco for 35$ as I wasn’t ready to jump into spending 100$ without knowing if I liked them. I will probably never do long hikes without them, especially if I have a pack on. It makes a huge difference to how my body felt at the end of the day.


I got this pad more because of the packing size than anything else but was not disappointed at all. I had been using a thermarest and always attaching it to the outside of my pack and wanted something that could go inside easily. This is easily the most comfortable sleeping bad I have used, I feel like I am sleeping in a bed.


This makes the love list every trip I go on. I have had the same one for almost ten years now and use it for everything. It has run half marathons, travelled Europe and comes along for every camping trip. I can use it as a sweat guard, to keep my hair off my face, to warm me up or even as a cloth. It washes super easy and dries unbelievably fast.




Gear I would love to have if I do another thru hike...

Smaller sleeping bag

Better rain coat

Waterproof socks

Foods I craved

Nachos

Mac n cheese

Eggs Benedict


Gear I didn’t use (but will always carry)

Emergency blanket

Benadryl

Air horn

Bear spray




70 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Food!

19.77km

7.95km

bottom of page