top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

19.77km

Updated: May 2, 2022

Finally! It’s the last day.



I fell asleep so easily last night cozy warm in the car. I started off just using my winter sleeping bag as a blanket and that kept me warm up till probably about 3 AM when I zipped it up. I was still pretty warm compared to how cold I’d been the nights in the tent so I was quite happy. I could also hear the rain all night. There were a couple of points where it got so heavy it definitely woke me up. I was very happy I made the decision to sleep in the car just because I don’t have to worry about getting wet at all.


I actually technically slept in as I didn’t really wake until 6:30. It was still absolutely pouring out so I just laid there eating and reading. 


Eventually the rain started to slow so I hit the trail around 9. Another benefit of having my car meant I could pack a day bag only! I still used my big bag as it’s water resistant but I took out a lot of gear. The reduced weight, clean socks and different foot wear meant I could really get a good pace going. 


I find a lot of the trails are actually shorter than the ECTA advertises them. I don’t know if my watch calculates it differently or what but I’m often finished them sooner than expected. 


The first trail absolutely flew by and I was on my road walk before I knew it. I was probably halfway through it when a woman pulled over to ask me what I was doing and it went something like this; 

Her: what are you doing?

Me: I’m about to do the last trail of my thru hike

Her: aren’t you cold?

Me: not really, I have jackets on. 

Her: have you read the forecast?

Me: yes. I only have one trail left, Ive been working towards this for two weeks now. 

Her: do your parents know you’re out here?

Me: yes. 

Her: why don’t you come sit in my garage until it stops raining?

Me: no thanks. I have one trail left of the whole ECT trail system and it will take less than 3 hours. 


She offers me a disposable rain poncho which I decline and then I keep walking. I do appreciate when cars pull over to check on me but don’t treat me like an idiot. I have a full pack on, I have a raincoat on, I have trekking polls and hiking boots. I look like I’ve thought out what I’m doing and I don’t need my parents permission to hike in the rain. 


I knew the last trail would be really muddy even without a whole night of rain. And it was expected.


The path was basically a river, and I don’t mean just water on it. It had usually ankle deep flowing water. However, knowing that I had all my warm and dry clothes in my car that it was that close made me not care at all. The first little bit of the trail was difficult and and had more ups and downs but seemed to get easier as it went on.

I was making great time, which is kind of impressive because I kept kept stopping and staring at the ocean because the waves were so big and it was mesmerizing to watch them crash against the shore.


Before I knew it I was practically the end of the trail. I was kind of disappointed in the weather for this trail because I really think it would’ve been an absolutely beautiful trail. However, it was so foggy I can barely see past where the waves were breaking.


Before I knew it, I was at the end!!



As soon as I could see the signs, it was hard not to run. I never really doubted that I would finish, but I definitely contemplated quitting. 


There was such a feeling of joy and excitement when I saw the signs and knew I had completed it. It was also a little bittersweet. I had an outpouring of support and messages from friends and family congratulating me but there was nobody actually there to celebrate with. It was also still wet and miserable and rainy. I didn’t really get to enjoy the view of last trails.



I took a whole bunch of selfies and just stood in all of the moment for a little bit and then headed out to the highway. I was technically only about 13 km from where I left my car but I was hoping somebody would pick me up and drive me back. I didn’t have long to go before a gentleman pulled out of his driveway, he went the opposite way of me and then turned around, came back and asked where I wad going and offered to drive me.


I’m definitely glad that I decided to do my first real thru hike and long backpacking journey in Newfoundland because the outpouring of support I've had from the community is like nothing else.


I’m at a hotel for the night to clean up and relax and sleep warmly. And then I’ll probably take a few days to reflect on everything I’ve experienced before posting again.



115 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

23.71km

7.95km

bottom of page