top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

0km

Updated: Sep 13, 2021

I was not planning on taking a zero day on this trip. My original intent had been able to do it in 12 to 13 days. Once I got started I thought it would take maybe 14. But I still didn’t think that really warranted a zero day. But if you’ve read this far you know that I realized I don’t want to hike all day in the rain and not have somewhere to warm up at night. The forecast still looks really awful for tonight and into tomorrow morning. I decided early this morning to stay here for another night. I know my body, especially my feet will really appreciate the extra rest. It is hard though to look outside and see a beautiful sunny day and not make use of it. I think if my phone and battery pack had been full I might have continued on yesterday but I’m happy I put safety first.

I contemplated doing my next trail as an in and out. But then tomorrow I either have to hike it again to get to my next trail or try and figure out a way to get past it. Instead I read a whole book while snuggled up in bed with some candy and chips.


The winds could get up to 80 km an hour tonight and ultimately I don’t know if I can guarantee a really well sheltered spot.

Having no service in the middle of a storm would be no fun.

Having a tree fall on my tent would not be fun.

Having a tent pole snap in the middle of the night would not be fun. Having my sleeping bag and sleeping pad and everything in my tent get soaking wet and freezing all night would not be fun.


So as much as a zero day is not necessarily fun, it is the safest and most desirable option I have.

I do have to say though that I am very thankful for all the people I’ve met on this adventure. I was fairly active in multiple hiking groups before jumping on the trail and I had four different people reach out to me and make sure I found somewhere safe to stay with the rainfall warning in effect. Some gave me their phone numbers in case I got stuck on trail and needed rescuing. I feel a lot better about setting out again tomorrow with everything charged and people ready to help me. It goes without saying that I’m also grateful for the family and friends who kept an eye on the weather for me. And those who researched places to stay since I didn’t have the phone battery for it. It’s good to have all the support that I do :)



Recent Posts

See All

18.31km

19.87km

bottom of page