top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

White Mountain!

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

I’ve been having some trouble making this post, it seems to delete anything I type…


Last weekend, Kathleen and I went on a short overnight hike on a new trail. I had seen a photo by a local hiker camping out and thought the spot was beautiful. I reached out to him and he explained which trail and where it was. He said it was an easy trail and less than two hours in so we took our time.


The parking lot was way bigger than I had expected for a trail this far out and on a dirt road. The trail was super well maintained and wide. It proved to be even easier than he had said. Even stopping multiple times, it only took an hour forty-five. We passed a lot of people and they all asked if we were going to the refuge, turns out we were!


The refuge was right on the lake, with lots of flat spots for tents. There was a picnic table, fire pit, boardwalk and an outhouse! The refuge was boarded up really well but the outhouse was open for use. It was a beautiful spot and the weather was perfect.



We decided to take a walk along the lake and enjoy the beautiful day. We had stopped to buy nets on the way so we could catch frogs, even though we heard an abundance, we didn’t actually spot any.



After a nice long waterside walk we collected some firewood and started a fire. We had a quick dinner and were just finishing up when a couple came along. They came from the opposite direction we had, but had packs so we asked if they were camping. They had hiked in from another spot than we had and done 17km that day, I hadn’t even realized the trail was that long.

They set up near the water and joined us for their dinner. They had a dog, Makie, who was super sweet and enjoyed hanging out with us too.


The frogs kept getting louder and louder so after the sun set, Jessica and I went on a little hunt and managed to find quite a few creatures. I was happy I hadn’t gone swimming after seeing all the leeches.



We stayed up until probably around 11 chatting with Jessica and John. It was such a nice warm evening that we could have stayed out longer. The bugs weren’t even bad, they had been while hiking in but were fine at the campsite.


Normally, I bring a two person tent for two people but I still had my 3 person in my bag from the last trip so I just brought it. Unfortunately, I broke the zipper when we were going in for the night. I tried to fix it but had no luck. There were no pee breaks allowed that night!



Here’s a little shot of the refuge. I’m not sure if it’s boarded up for the summer as it’s for snowshoeing or if it’s because of covid.



We took another way out on our hike since there was a lot more trails there than we had first realized. We ran into a lot of people again and I couldn’t believe how many asked if we had the nets to catch the frogs and eat them. I didn’t think I’d have to explain that frog catching is fun just on it’s own!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page