top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria

Bluff Wilderness

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

This local trail has been a favourite of mine since I discovered it. Also since I discovered it, I have wanted to hike it in its entirety. The total trail is about 24 km with some seriously scenic views.

There have been two main reasons why I haven't hiked it until now...


1) Misinformation.

If you read reviews on the trail, most people who hike the entire trail recommend doing it over two days. When I asked people about it I got such a mixed response on how hard it was and how long it took. Many people said it was not a one day adventure. This seemed strange to me based on the kilometers but the mix of information I received made me hesitate.


2) Alone.

Finding friends who love hiking enough to commit to this length of a trail is hard. Finding one who has the same availability as you is near impossible. There are reports of bears on the final, furthest, longest and most remote loop which made me hesitate to do it alone.


Now that I have decided to hike the East Coast Trail in September I really need to get the kilometers in. I also need to get used to hiking alone on trails where there are bear sightings, and other potential hazards. Growing up in New Brunswick and Ontario, bear sightings aren't as uncommon to me as many in Nova Scotia but I still believe in being smart about it. I finally decided that I would just dive in and complete the whole trail. I made sure to pack extra food, bring my water filter and tell people where I was going.


Side note: This is my number one safety tip to any hiker. Please always tell someone where you are going, the route you plan on taking, and when to expect you back.


The hike ended up taking me 6h50 minutes of moving time with about an additional 45 minutes for water, food, and other breaks. I was able to move quite fast for the two loops since I was more familiar with them. The fourth loop definitely slowed me down, partially because it was less maintained but also I was taking more photos. The fourth loop is also by far the most scenic and I can't wait to return! I only encountered one other group on the loop, a couple heading to Moose campsite.


This was my longest hike in years and the last hour was definitely tough. I never really hit a point where I thought I wasn't going to finish it but I do think I still need to build up my endurance. Thankfully I still have some time to get longer hikes under my belt before heading to Newfoundland. Unfortunately, there won't be much option for multiple night overnights before I go.

I found my worry of seeing bears wasn't totally unfounded as I did see a lot of poop. Nothing was fresh enough to cause immediate anxiety but it did confirm their presence. I also saw two rabbits, a blue heron, and lots of toads, including this little guy.


For anyone who has hiked with me, you know I'm not the most coordinated. I somehow always manage to trip, walk into branches (and trees), and I always end the hike much dirtier than anyone else. This hike was no different as about two hours into the hike, I slipped on a rock and went mid-calf deep in muck! There was nothing that could have saved me from this, no trees to grab, or dry spots to aim for, and I think was lucky I didn't go full body down and in. Unfortunately, it meant that I spent the next 5 hours with a soaking wet foot. I am thankful this was the only bad thing to happen on the hike.

Overall, this hike has left me feeling inspired and excited! Even though it was hard, especially that last hour, I feel empowered. I think the ECT is achievable and can't wait to keep preparing for it.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page